Last weekend, Skyline High School’s DECA chapter took over 70 students to Detroit’s Cobo Center to compete at the State Career Development Conference. People often wonder: what is DECA? Distributive Education Clubs of America (DECA) is an international nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization consisting of high school and college students who are interested in business, finance, hospitality, and marketing. DECA was created in 1946 and its programs are authorized by Congress and the United States Department of Education. It has since expanded to include over 215,000 members in all of the fifty states.  The conference allowed Skyline students the opportunity to compete and connect with over 4,000 students who hailed from all over the state. Students were also afforded the opportunity to meet with influential business professionals and develop essential leadership skills that will stay with them far beyond the scope of the competition.

Skyline DECA’s dedicated Chapter Advisors are Mr. Jobe, Mr. Shannon, and Ms. Wargo. These advisors spend the entire year working tirelessly to support and train students with the skills they need to do well in competition. With their help, the Skyline chapter was able to grow so quickly that it was honored as a DECA All-Star Chapter. As business and marketing professionals, Skyline’s advisors did a tremendous job preparing students to be successful at competition. This year, twenty-two Skyline students won the right to represent the state of Michigan as well as the United States at the International Career Development Conference, held in Anaheim, California. They will travel to the international conference in late April of 2017.

Congratulations to the students who will be attending the International Career Development Conference: Neha Seshadri, Rohan Kheterpal, Lauren Carethers, Christine Yan, Tim Trudeau, Cammie Treiber, Zach Simmons, Veer Shetty, Jacob Rothenberg, Chase Hyatt, Blake Bertrand, Allison Haak, Sam Greenberg, Natalie Bell, Liv Baugh, Samantha Barber, Casey Klobucar, Angie Knight, Jordan Tirico, Kennedy Lieberman, Tobin Brenner, and Jakub Hann.